Skip to content

Here’s the play that really screwed the Union on Saturday night

Sep 16, 2013, 4:05 PM EDT

I spent a lot of time at sporting events over the weekend and no other play left me scratching my head more than the goal from the Philadelphia Union that was later whistled away. But what happened on Keon Daniel’s free kick that landed in the back of the net but was never counted as a goal? How can they call offsides when nobody else touched the ball? Was it even an offsides call? What was the call? So many questions.

CSNPhilly.com contributor Ryan Bright attempted to explain the explanation over the weekend:

“I think he said I was offsides, then he said I was obstructing the goalie,” Okugo said. “He has to make a decision. If it’s offsides, it’s offsides. If it’s obstruction, it’s obstruction. Keon played a great ball and the goalkeeper misread it. I was the closest guy to him.”

Kadlecik worked to explain the play in detail.

“When the ball was played, the Union player was judged to be offsides, so therefore he was penalized for being offsides on that play,” Kadlecik said. “The offsides player interfered with the keeper. It didn’t matter if it was physical or not. If they’re offsides, they are interfering with play.”

Got that? No? Yeah, me neither.

>>Controversial call lingers over Union in a loss [CSN]

  1. Patrick - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:31 PM

    He was offsides and obstructing so it was just a matter of which one the ref wanted to use. The only questionable call was Hackworth’s line-up. Though I suppose when the only goal in 270 minutes your empty bucket creates is disallowed, you get to whine.

    Reply
    • Glenn - Sep 16, 2013 at 5:53 PM

      Actually the ref was explaining how the player was judged to be offside without playing the ball. He wasn’t obstructing, but rather interfering with an opponent after being judged to be in an offside position.

      Reply
  2. Glenn - Sep 16, 2013 at 5:50 PM

    Offside is a really tough, judgment call on a play like that. You can be judged offside without touching the ball if, in the opinion of the referee you interfere with an opponent. That was clearly the reasoning on this call. I know it seems a little tough to swallow but I find it hard to argue this call too much. There’s a pretty helpful guide from FIFA that breaks down law 11 (Offside) on this page

    http://www.fifa.com/aboutfifa/footballdevelopment/technicalsupport/refereeing/laws-of-the-game/law/newsid=1290867.html

    http://www.fifa.com/lotg/football/en/flash/start.html

    Reply
  3. 33 - Sep 17, 2013 at 10:47 AM

    kinda fun that MLS now has a video feature where it highlights how crappy its own reffing is http://www.mlssoccer.com/video/2013/09/16/osorio-incident-philly-non-goal-decision-under-microscope-instant-replay#ooid=B1MzltZTr-dHyLRmbqz2AaAnMuT9nGlC

    Reply

(email will not be published)

RECENT COMMENTS

wholesale Senior Bow… on ‘Who’s That Guy?…
clubberlangphila on Exit Interviews: Evaluating th…
Renee on Steve Mason will start Game 4…
Renee on At least Evan Turner didn…